If you can't build authority, read this.

A little branding hack.

What’s bro?

It’s Adam for a new show!

Today I just had a reflection.

I’m sitting at my desk, asking myself…

What would I write if I had permission to write anything I wanted?

  • I’d show my runs.

  • Talk about my ideas and beliefs.

  • Posts pics of my walks.

And then it hit me.

Why don’t I just write about them?

I never tried.

Now I want to ask yourself the same thing.

What would I write if I had permission to write anything I wanted?

The reason I’m telling you that is simple…

You’re limiting yourself.

  • You want to build authority.

  • You want people to know who you are.

  • You want people to know what you’re interested in.

But…

You don’t share anything.

Let me show you that with a simple test.

Take your last 10 tweets.

(I assume that you write between 3-5 tweets a day, otherwise, go for 6 :/)

And you’ll put these 10 tweets in 3 bowls.

  1. Value.

  2. Beliefs.

  3. Story.

In the 1st bowl, you’re going to put everything that:

  • Educate people.

  • Help people.

  • Enlight them. (make them have a specific realization)

In the 2nd bowl, you’ll put everything that:

  • Interact with the reader.

  • Strengthen your image. (What you want to be known for)

  • Share your perspective.

In the 3rd bowl, you’ll put everything that:

  • Inspire the reader.

  • Relate to the reader. (in a deeper way)

Now let me ask you.

How many of those tweets go in the 1st, how many into the 2nd, and how many go into the 3rd?

(Hint: Platitudes, pointless questions, stolen ideas or perspectives, and purposeless insights go into the trash).

If half of them or more go to the trash. You’re not worth helping (so be more serious).

Otherwise, well done.

Now see how many tweets are worth going into the bowls.

  1. Do your stories have a real impact? A clear message? Are they related to your Big Idea?

  2. Do your insights clearly help your ICP? Do they guide them?

  3. Is your perspective really interesting? How about your ideas? Are your beliefs strong and worth listening to?

That’s when we see if you have solid content.

Because if it’s made quickly by yourself…

It is unique, but not solid.

So work on it.

Until your last 10 tweets are all worth going in the 3 bowls.

Your man,

Adam.

Reply

or to participate.